Spectacularly bad English - am I dealing with a bot?
"I will definitely come back again to check out the new improvements that you would be bringing about to the site" - foreigner, clutz or bot?
Just got an email from someone wanting to sell me web design for my site. Take a look at the first paragraph of his email:
I happened to visit your website “illuminated.co.uk” that has detailed information about the great card game of INWO and the various links talk about INWO like no other site has discussed ever before. I found that the you have stopped updating the INWO website and started concentrating on rather some other projects as well such as the pet projects etc. But still the INWO website contains information on more than 4500 cards, I must say that you have done quite a great job by collecting information and statics about so many cards. Congratulations on developing such a well narrated website. But I must say that you should consider reviewing the website once more as the website was last updated in the year 2001. Also the site contains links to many of other sites such as Red Meat and some links to amazon.com as well. I think the potential of the Internet is best realized when information is shared. Please keep up the good work and I will definitely come back again to check out the new improvements that you would be bringing about to the site and also to check out the revised INWO website as well.
He works for a New-York based company, and his name looks like that of an English-speaker (although if he’s Asian he might have chosen a pseudonym), so I don’t think this is just being a non-native English speaker. So the two possibilities are a) that he’s just amazingly bad at writing English; and b) that this was automatically generated by crawling my site and looking for buzzwords.
Either way, it’s impressive (in all sorts of wrong ways).